The best reaction to — what is the Vietnamese zodiac?

The Vietnamese zodiac is a 12-year cycle where each year is associated with an animal sign. The animal signs are Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog, and Pig.

The Vietnamese zodiac, known as “Tuổi Con Heo”, has a rich cultural significance in Vietnam. It follows a 12-year cycle in which each year is associated with a specific animal sign. These animal signs are Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog, and Pig. Each animal sign is believed to possess unique characteristics that influence the personality traits and destiny of individuals born in that particular year.

Here are some interesting facts about the Vietnamese zodiac:

  1. Legend and Origins: The Vietnamese zodiac is said to have originated from a folk story involving a race organized by the Jade Emperor. The twelve animals that finished the race were awarded a position in the zodiac cycle, based on their arrival order.

  2. Animal Symbolism: Each animal is believed to represent different qualities and traits. For example, the Rat is associated with intelligence and resourcefulness, while the Tiger symbolizes courage and power. These animal symbols are deeply ingrained in Vietnamese culture, influencing various aspects of life including naming conventions, compatibility charts, and even daily horoscopes.

  3. Unique Order: Unlike other zodiac systems, the Vietnamese zodiac starts with the Year of the Rat. The order is Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog, and Pig, in that sequence. This ordering system is based on the animal’s participation in the mythical race mentioned earlier.

  4. Compatibility and Clashes: In Vietnamese astrology, it is believed that certain animal signs have natural compatibility, while others may clash. For example, individuals born in the Year of the Dragon are said to be compatible with those born in the Year of the Rat or Monkey, but may clash with those born in the Year of the Dog. This compatibility aspect is often considered when making important life decisions, such as marriage and business partnerships.

  5. Cultural Significance: The Vietnamese zodiac is deeply woven into the fabric of Vietnamese society and is celebrated during the Lunar New Year, known as Tết. Families gather to exchange good wishes, offer prayers, and seek fortune for the upcoming year. Traditional rituals and customs associated with the zodiac are followed, including the preparation of specific dishes, wearing auspicious colors, and offering symbolic gifts.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Your inquiry is — is Good Morning Vietnam a real story?

A famous quote by Vietnamese writer and poet, Nguyen Cong Tru, reflects the cultural significance of the Vietnamese zodiac:

“Twelve animals lead the time,
Their impact on life, truly prime.
With every year, a different sign,
Each with its traits, oh so fine.”


| Animal  | Vietnamese Name | Order | Year (Lunar Calendar) |
| Rat     | Con Chuột      | 1     | 1924, 1936, 1948...  |
| Ox      | Con Trâu       | 2     | 1925, 1937, 1949...  |
| Tiger   | Con Hổ         | 3     | 1926, 1938, 1950...  |
| Rabbit  | Con Thỏ        | 4     | 1927, 1939, 1951...  |
| Dragon  | Con Rồng       | 5     | 1928, 1940, 1952...  |
| Snake   | Con Rắn        | 6     | 1929, 1941, 1953...  |
| Horse   | Con Ngựa       | 7     | 1930, 1942, 1954...  |
| Goat    | Con Dê         | 8     | 1931, 1943, 1955...  |
| Monkey  | Con Khỉ        | 9     | 1932, 1944, 1956...  |
| Rooster | Con Gà         | 10    | 1933, 1945, 1957...  |
| Dog     | Con Chó        | 11    | 1934, 1946, 1958...  |
| Pig     | Con Lợn        | 12    | 1935, 1947, 1959...  |

The Vietnamese zodiac, with its captivating legends, symbolic animal representations, and cultural traditions, continues to play a significant role in Vietnamese society, shaping beliefs and practices for generations.

Other answers to your question

The Vietnamese zodiac (Vietnamese: Mười hai con giáp) is the traditional Vietnamese classification scheme based on the lunar calendar that assigns an animal and its reputed attributes to each year in a repeating 12-year cycle. The Viet lunar calendar is divided into 60-year cycles known as hồi.

Response to your question in video format

The video explores the legend behind the Vietnamese zodiac and how the animals were chosen. According to the story, the order of the zodiac was determined by a race to the heaven gate, where the rat cleverly tricked the buffalo and claimed first place. The cat, unfortunately, was pushed into the water and missed out on the race. The video also mentions a variant of the story where the cat overslept and was replaced by the pig in the zodiac. Overall, this legend serves as the explanation for the animal order in the Vietnamese zodiac.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Where was the demilitarized zone in vietnam?

I am confident you will be intrigued

What is the Vietnamese zodiac sign?
The Vietnamese zodiac includes 12 animals. They are arranged in a fixed order: Rat, Ox (Buffalo), Tiger, Cat, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog, and Pig.
What is the Vietnamese zodiac this year?
Answer: Year of the Cat
The Vietnamese Zodiac – 2023 and Beyond
Zodiac signs into the future: 2023 is Year of the Cat followed by Year of the Dragon (2024), Year of the Horse (2025), Year of the Snake (2026) and so on. The traditional view is that 2023 will be more peaceful and less tumultuous than Year of the Tiger (2022).
What is Vietnamese 2023 zodiac?
The reply will be: According to the Vietnamese zodiac, 2023 is the year of the cat. The cat is known as “the flexible one” and, according to Vietnam online, people born in the year of the cat are considered to be “courteous and sociable, yet always they keep a secret to themselves, which makes them attractive.
What is my Vietnamese zodiac 1984?
The response is: You are a Rat if you were born after Tet in 1948,1960,1972,1984,1996,2008,…

Rate article
Traveling light